Flip Morse

Flip Morse’s musical roots are founded in American and British pop rock. A self-taught guitarist with a background in classical piano, he became heavily influenced by the melodies and harmonies of the classic rock era. Though his music today remains true to that tradition by weaving addictive melodic hooks into a rich vocal fabric, it introduces a fresh twist to the genre. One music business executive has described it as being full of "ear worms" -- meaning that, once you listen to it, you can't get the songs out of your head.


Flip grew up outside of Boston, Massachusetts. He played in high school bands and later dropped out of college to form a Boston-based band called The Road Apples. The Road Apples bumped around the Boston bar scene and the New England college circuit for several years, until their song "Let's Live Together" made the Billboard top-40 in 1975. Though their second single "Holding On" broke into the top 100, The Road Apples were soon eclipsed by their Cambridge friends and compatriots, bands such as The Cars and Boston. Instead of Boston opening for The Road Apples, The Road Apples were now opening for Boston in the wake of their meteoric rise. Several years later, The Road Apples broke up, and Flip played with the Robin Lane Band (of The Chartbusters fame) and did some session work with Andy Pratt.


Flip went back to college and on to law school. From there, he headed out to Seattle to grind away in a big law firm. His lifeline to reality was playing in the band Neon Lips on weekends. After Flip's wife died at age 36 of breast cancer, leaving two infant children, he left the law and started working as an executive at a major video game company. The pain and anguish of helping his wife through cancer and death rendered him unable to write or even play music for a couple of years. As he started healing from that experience, though, the flood gates opened and all the emotions arising out of it served as a font of inspiration for new material.

Recent Album

Flip's CD "Take My Hand" is the result of over two years of laying down songs in the recording studio as he was able to find time on weekends. Playing with him are the extraordinary musicians Ben Smith (drums), John Morton (guitar), Mike Lull (bass), and the legendary Danny Barnes (dobro). Their collective efforts have created a CD that harks back to its classical rock roots, but offers a very fresh, new, modern sound -- deceptively complex, yet instantly accessible. Enjoy!


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • Vimeo
  • Flickr
  • Apple
  • Blogger
  • Myspace
  • Youtube
  • Ember
  • Digg
  • Stumbleupon
  • Technorati
  • Sharethis
  • Linkedin